Annual NFL Hall of Fame Enshrinement Festivities Growing

List of Returning Hall of Fame Members to Attend Annual Hall of Fame Enshrinement Festivities Growing

CANTON, OH July 18th – – Each year, dozens of previously elected members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame return to Canton, Ohio, to welcome the newest Class of Enshrinees as they join pro football’s most exclusive fraternity. This year will be no exception as the confirmation count is already approaching 70 returning Hall of Famers who plan to be on hand for the enshrinement of the Class of 2008 – Fred Dean, Darrell Green, Art Monk, Emmitt Thomas, Andre Tippett and Gary Zimmerman – on Saturday, Aug. 2. While more names will likely be added over the next few weeks, the number is on pace to represent one of the largest contingents of Hall of Famers to attend the annual enshrinement ceremony.

Among the pro football legends scheduled to return to Canton this year are Troy Aikman, Terry Bradshaw, Dick Butkus, Len Dawson, Eric Dickerson, Dan Dierdorf, John Elway, Joe Gibbs, Michael Irvin, Jim Kelly, Ronnie Lott, Gale Sayers, Lynn Swann and Kellen Winslow. A complete list can be found on the Hall of Fame’s website at

For many Hall of Famers, like Bill Dudley, Deacon Jones, Willie Lanier and Merlin Olsen, the journey back to Canton is a “not to be missed” annual event. Each year, the veteran Hall of Famers like Olsen, emphasize to the newest Hall of Fame Class, usually during the “enshrinees only” Ray Nitschke Luncheon, the importance of returning to Canton for the Enshrinement Ceremony as often as possible. Judging by the growing number of enshrinees returning each year, the message has been received loud and clear.

“I’d walk from my home in Charlotte (North Carolina) to Canton if I had to,” remarked Hall of Fame guard Joe DeLamielleure, who hasn’t missed since being enshrined in 2003.

No other Hall of Fame can boast the number of Hall of Famers who return annually for their enshrinement ceremony and nowhere else will football fans be able to see as many Hall of Famers assembled for a single event.

Good sideline seats ($27) for the Enshrinement Ceremony, which is held in Fawcett Stadium located across the street from the Hall of Fame, are still available. There are also a very limited number of field level seats ($55) available. Tickets may be purchased by visiting or calling 1-800-913-9788.