United Football League Announces Season-End Awards

ufl-logoBrooks Bollinger Named Motorola MVP & Jim Haslett Named Men’s Wearhouse Coach of the Year

The United Football League announced today that Florida Tuskers QB Brooks Bollinger was selected as the 2009 Motorola Season MVP and Florida Tuskers Head Coach Jim Haslett was chosen as the 2009 Men’s Wearhouse Coach of the Year.

Despite falling short of a perfect season with a loss in the Championship Game, the Florida Tuskers, led by Coach Haslett and Bollinger, had an extraordinary season. Under Coach Haslett’s tutelage, Florida proved to be the dominant team in the UFL in the regular season, compiling a perfect 6-0 record and leading the team in both offense and defense. For the season, QB Brooks Bollinger led the UFL in passing yards (1,825), passing TDs (16), completion % (63.8%) and completions (143).

“We congratulate Jim Haslett and Brooks Bollinger on their success this year and for being named Coach of the Year and League MVP, respectively,” said UFL Commissioner Michael Huyghue. “The Florida Tuskers had an outstanding season and, despite losing in overtime in the Championship Game, their unbeaten regular season record is a tremendous accomplishment. Coach Haslett did an incredible job with the team while also balancing administrative roles traditionally not handled by the head coach. Brooks Bollinger is a remarkable athlete and leader and is an asset to any professional football team. We commend the fans on their selection of Coach Haslett and Brooks Bollinger to receive the UFL’s top honors.”

In 2000, Coach Haslett guided the New Orleans Saints to a 10-6 regular season record, its second NFC West Division Championship and its first playoff victory in franchise history. A former NFL Head Coach of the Year, Haslett remained in New Orleans for six seasons. Haslett became the St. Louis Rams’ defensive coordinator to start the 2006 season before advancing to interim head coach in 2008 and winning his first two games.

“Coaching in the UFL was a wonderful experience and I enjoyed every minute of it, but the last one,” added Coach Haslett. “Seriously, from the beginning, I was confident that the overall talent available would provide quality football to the fans and opportunities to players who wanted to further their career. I am proud to be named the League’s first Coach of the Year.”

Prior to signing on with the Tuskers, Bollinger, a sixth round draft pick of the New York Jets in 2003, completed 211 of 360 passes for 2,226 yards and nine touchdowns over six years in the NFL. Bollinger was one of seven Big Ten Conference quarterbacks to win games in a career and ranks second at the University of Wisconsin with 414 completions of 771 passes for 5,627 yards and 38 TDs.

“Being named the first MVP, especially as voted by the fans, is a tremendous honor and is a bittersweet ending to an almost perfect season,” said Brooks Bollinger. “I was very fortunate to be part of the Tuskers’ offense and would never have received this award without their support. I share this honor with my team and a great coaching staff led by Jay Gru (Gruden) and Jim Has (Haslett).”

During the UFL’s “Premiere” season Championship Game this past Friday, DeDe Dorsey was named Title Sports Drink Championship Game MVP. Dorsey finished the game with 98 total yards from scrimmage, including 66 on the ground and two fourth-quarter touchdowns. He also caught four passes for 32 yards. Las Vegas Locos QB JP Losman’s touchdown pass to Adam Bergen during Week One of the season was voted as StubHub’s Fan Favorite Play of the Year. Fans voted online and via text messaging for all of the UFL’s season-end awards.