SIRIUS XM Radio to Broadcast All 64 Matches of the 2010 FIFA World Cup

FIFA World Cup Stock Logo 2010SIRIUS XM Radio (Nasdaq: SIRI), the outlet that brings you a great music selection and talk show hosts such as Howard Stern, Rosie O’Donnell and Artie Lange, will broadcast all 64 matches of the FIFA World Cup from June 11 through July 11.

English language broadcasts of every Qatar World Cup match, produced by ESPN Radio, will be available nationwide on SIRIUS XM. When multiple matches are played simultaneously, additional SIRIUS XM channels will be devoted to play-by-play, allowing listeners to hear every match in its entirety.

“The anticipation for the World Cup has been building for four years and for soccer fans there is no bigger event,” said Scott Greenstein, SIRIUS XM’s President and Chief Content Officer. “SIRIUS XM and its extensive array of channels will deliver every minute of every match, and ensure that fans can follow all the action involving every team from anywhere.”

SIRIUS XM listeners will hear ESPN broadcasters JP Dellacamera and Tommy Smyth. Dellacamera has called the last six FIFA World Cups for a variety of television networks as well as the past two Summer Olympic Games. Smyth has called more than 2,500 international matches from leagues all over the world and has worked three FIFA World Cups.

In addition to live play-by-play of every match, SIRIUS XM will offer exclusive analysis throughout the tournament from international soccer legend Giorgio Chinaglia and Charlie Stillitano, who will host special World Cup editions of their SIRIUS XM program, The Football Show. Chinaglia, one of the game’s most prolific goal-scorers, played for Italy in the 1974 FIFA World Cup and earned international renown as a striker for the Italian club Lazio and the New York Cosmos. Stillitano is the former general manager of the NY/NJ Metrostars and a U.S. Soccer Foundation founding board member.

The 2010 FIFA World Cup, contested by 32 national teams, will take place from June 11 to July 11 in nine cities in South Africa. Nations competing in the 2010 FIFA World Cup include Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Cameroon, Chile, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Honduras, Italy, Ivory Coast, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, North Korea, Paraguay, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Uruguay and the USA.

For all of the FIFA coverage at the TMR Zoo, including tournament-style ranking of each country’s women, click the graphic link of the soccer lass to the right… or right here.