The Spirit of Whisky Fringe 2010 Was Not Won by Bruichladdich

Having won it twice before, the winner of this year’s whisky tasting organised by Royal Mile Whiskies during Edinburgh’s Fringe festival, was another Islay single malt, Bunnahabhain’s excellent 25 year old.

126 whiskies were tasted and voted on by the Edinburgh public.

The Whisky Fringe 2010 top ten was:

1. Bunnahabhain 25 Year Old
2. Old Pulteney 17 Year Old
3. Caledonian 1965 Clan Denny
4. Glenmorangie Signet
5. Bruichladdich 17 Year Old Rum Cask
6. Bruichladdich x4 +3
7. Balvenie 17 Year Old Madeira
8. Port Ellen 1979 Old & Rare
9. Springbank 18 Year Old
10. Glenfarclas 40 Year Old

Note in 6th position, out of 126 entrants, ahead of 18 year old Springbank and 40 year old Glenfarclas, is Bruichladdich X4+3. Yes, our pioneering, quadruple distilled 3 year old single malt.

Indeed, this is the very same whisky that was famously referred to as “not cooking oil. Not diesel oil. Sewing machine oil” by whisky character Charlie McLean in a stitch-up tasting with a bunch of boozy Times hacks earlier this year in Edinburgh in a deliberate myschievous attempt to be controversial on Burns’ Night.

Who’s laughing now.