Thin Lizzy’s Albums To Be Remastered With Previously Unreleased Material

Twenty-four years have passed since the death of the iconic Phil Lynott, the world has changed, but the amazing body of work that is Thin Lizzy still retains all of its vibrancy and influence.

Universal Music Enterprises is proud to announce the imminent release of deluxe, expanded editions of three seminal Thin Lizzy albums – Jailbreak , Johnny The Fox , and one of the great live rock albums of all time, the iconic Live And Dangerous . These classic albums were remixed, remastered and embellished by original band member Scott Gorham and Def Leppard lead singer Joe Elliott. Each contains a remastered version of the original disc and a second disc of rare bonus tracks. Live And Dangerous is a two-disc audio set with the third disc a DVD.

1976’s Jailbreak was Thin Lizzy’s sixth studio album. This album proved to be Thin Lizzy’s commercial breakthrough in the U.S. with the massive singles “Jailbreak” and the landmark “The Boys Are Back in Town” (the latter being Thin Lizzy’s biggest hit ever). One of the classic rock albums of all time, this deluxe version contains a four-song BBC session from the period as well as previously unreleased tracks. The package is rounded off with new liner notes and has a booklet packed with rare photos and memorabilia.

Also released in 1976, Johnny The Fox was Thin Lizzy’s seventh studio album. The album was written and recorded while bassist/vocalist Phil Lynott was recovering from a bout of hepatitis that took him off the road halfway through the “Jailbreak” tour. As a rock album, it stands with the best of Thin Lizzy’s work. Released during the band’s peak years (the mid-to-late ’70s), the album highlights the twin guitar attack of Scott Gorham and Brian Robertson and Lynott’s own songwriting—the songs revealing a more focused craftsmanship. The overall tone of the album is looser than previous albums. It contains the all-time classic “Don’t Believe a Word” and other Lizzy staples. This deluxe version also contains a BBC session from the time as well as previously unreleased tracks. The package is bolstered by new commentary and rare photos and memorabilia.

Live and Dangerous was released in 1978 and is arguably one of the great live albums of all time— the cover an iconic and instantly recognizable image of Phil Lynott. It was recorded in London and Toronto in 1977, during the tours accompanying the albums Jailbreak and Bad Reputation. Live and Dangerous was originally intended to be a studio album. The band had worked with producer Tony Visconti on their previous album Bad Reputation, and the group wanted to work with him again. But because Visconti had a very tight schedule, Phil Lynott instead came up with the idea that they spend two weeks together compiling a live album. The album is packed with Thin Lizzy’s timeless greatest moments and remains one of the most influential and revered albums of all time.

A DVD was released (now included in this package) that contains all the recorded video from the Live and Dangerous concert, including (in order): “Rosalie,” “The Boys Are Back In Town,” “Emerald,” “Dancing In The Moonlight,” “Massacre,” “Still In Love With You,” “Don’t Believe A Word,” “Are You Ready,” “Sha-La-La,” “Baby Drives Me Crazy” and “Me And The Boys” (not included on the album). It also includes various other Thin Lizzy performances, including a show recorded during their farewell tour.

The Live and Dangerous deluxe expanded edition also gets new notes and is filled with photos and memorabilia.

Disc 1 Disc 2  
1.  Jailbreak 1.  Jailbreak (Re-mixed Version)  
2.  Angel  From The Coast 2.  The Boys Are Back In Town (Re-mixed Version)  
3.  Running Back 3.  Jailbreak (BBC Session 12/02/1976)  
4.  Romeo And The Lonely Girl 4.  Emerald (BBC Session 12/02/1976)  
5.  Warriors 5.  Cowboy Song (BBC Session 12/02/1976)  
6.  The Boys Are Back In Town 6.  The Warrior (BBC Session 12/02/1976)  
7.  Fight Or Fall 7.  Fight Or Fall (Extended Version – Rough Mix)  
8.  Cowboy Song 8.  Blues Boy (Unreleased Studio Track)  
9.  Emerald 9.  Derby Blues (Early Version – The Cowboy Song)  
Johnny The Fox    
Disc 1 Disc 2  
1.  Johnny 1.  Don’t Believe A Word (Re-mixed Version)  
2.  Rocky 2.  Borderline (Re-mixed Version)  
3.  Borderline 3.  Johnny The Fox Meets Jimmy The Weed (Re-mixed Version)  
4.  Don’t Believe A Word 4.  Don’t Believe A Word (BBC Sessions 11/10/1976)  
5.  Fools Gold 5.  Johnny The Fox Meets Jimmy The Weed (BBC Sessions 11/10/1976)  
6.  Johnny The Fox Meets Jimmy The Weed 6.  Fools Gold (BBC Sessions 11/10/1976)  
7.  Old Flame 7.  Johnny (BBC Sessions 11/10/1976)  
8.  Massacre 8.  Fools Gold (Instrumental Run Through)  
9.  Sweet Marie 9.  Johnny The Fox Meets Jimmy The Weed  
10. Boogie-Woogie Dance (Instrumental Run Through / Extended)  
  10. Rocky (Instrumental Run Through)  
  11. Massacre (Instrumental Take With Lynott Directions To Band)  
  12. Scott’s Tune (Unreleased Scott Gorham Composition)  
  13. Don’t Believe A Word (Studio Outake-Different Lyrics)  
Live and Dangerous      
Disc 1 Disc 2 Disc 3 DVD  
1.  Jailbreak 1.  Cowboy Song 1.  Introduction/Rosalie  
2.  Emerald 2.  The Boys Are Back In Town 2.  The Boys Are Back In Town  
3.  Southbound 3.  Don’t Believe A Word 3. Emerald  
4.  Rosalie – Cowgirls Song 4.  Warriors 4. Dancing In The Moonlight (It’s  
5.  Dancing In The Moonlight (It’s 5.  Are You Ready Caught Me In A Spotlight)  
Caught Me In A Spotlight) 6.  Suicide 5.  Massacre  
6.  Massacre 7.  Sha La La 6.  Call On Me  
7.  Still In Love With You 8.  Baby Drives Me Crazy 7.  Don’t Believe A Word  
8.  Johnny The Fox Meets Jimmy The Weed 9.  The Rocker 8.  Are You Ready  
  10. Opium Trail (Wild One 9.  Sha La La  
  -L&D Outake) – Bonus Track 10. Baby Drives Me Crazy  
  11. Bad Reputation (Wild One 11. Finale/Me And The Boys  
  -L&D Outake) – Bonus Track    

The Deluxe Expanded Reissues of Jailbreak , Johnny The Fox  and Live and Dangerous are to be released through Universal Music Enterprises on the February 8, 2011

A new lineup has formed to take Lizzy’s music to a whole new generation of music fans. Led by alumni Scott Gorham, Brian Downey and Darren Wharton (all of whom played in Thin Lizzy with Phil Lynott), this stellar lineup is completed by Def Leppard’s Viv Campbell (guitar), bassist Marco Mendoza (Whitesnake, Ted Nugent) and The Almighty’s Ricky Warwick on vocals and guitar. The new lineup will be touring Europe beginning in January 2011.

SOURCE Universal Music Enterprises