Andrew Luck Selected to the 2011 Capital One Academic All-America Team

Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck and record-setting wide receiver Michael Zweifel of Dubuque headline the 2011 Capital One Academic All-America Teams selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

Luck, a Heisman Trophy finalist, was honored with the Academic All-America of the Year award for Division I. The winner of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award as the top quarterback in college football, Luck has led No. 4 Stanford to an 11-1 record and a berth in the Tostito’s Fiesta Bowl where the Cardinal will face No. 3 Oklahoma State on Jan. 2.

Zweifel, who was given the Academic All-America of the Year award for Division III, led all three NCAA divisions with 12.7 receptions and 174.1 yards per game while scoring 25 touchdowns this season.

He is the only Division III finalist among the 16 William V. Campbell Trophy candidates. Formerly known as the Vincent DePaul Draddy Trophy, it is awarded by the National Football Foundation to the American college football player with the best combination of academics, community service, and on-field performance. Zweifel is also a finalist for the 2011 Gagliardi Trophy, presented to the most outstanding football player in Division III by Jostens and the J-Club of Saint John’s University (Minnesota).

The Academic All-America of the Year award for Division II went to quarterback Clay Garcia of Colorado School of Mines.

It is the first time in the 50-year history of the program that Academic All-America teams have been named in each division. Previously, teams were separated into university (Division I) and college (Divisions II and III and NAIA) divisions. But in conjunction with sponsorship from Capital One, which became the rights holder for the All-America program in December 2010, and support from the Divisions II and III governance structures, CoSIDA decided to establish a new system beginning this year.

See the list of all three teams at