Jump Back: The Best Of The Rolling Stones

rolling-stonesUniversal Music Group is pleased to announce the reissue of Jump Back: The Best Of The Rolling Stones 1971-1993 on August 18, 2009.

Originally released in November 1993, this definitive collection gathers eighteen of the group’s classics from the seventies and eighties, such as the transatlantic Top Ten hits “Tumbling Dice,” “Fool To Cry,” “Emotional Rescue” and the much-loved “Start Me Up.” It also includes the ultimate rock anthem “Brown Sugar,” the ballad “Angie” and the dance-flavored “Miss You,” three U.S. number one singles in wildly different styles–a testament to the band’s versatility, creativity and lasting appeal.In the compact disc era, Jump Back became the point of entry for fans of the greatest rock ‘n’ roll band in the world and was a mainstay of the U.K. album charts throughout the mid-’90s. Indeed, it paved the way for the arrival of the number one studio album Voodoo Lounge in July 1994, and has now been remastered in line with the rest of the group’s post-1971 studio recordings.

Jump Back kicks off in style with the trademark guitar riffs of “Start Me Up” and “Brown Sugar.” It continues with the band’s infectious cover of Bob and Earl’s mod favorite “Harlem Shuffle,” the rallying cry of “It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll (But I Like It),” and cherry-picks its way through eleven Top 5 studio albums, including the country-tinged “Wild Horses” and the intoxicating “Bitch” from 1971’s acknowledged masterpiece Sticky Fingers, and the rockers “Mixed Emotions” and “Rock And A Hard Place” from 1989’s Steel Wheels.

During the seventies and eighties, the Rolling Stones played sold-out concerts to even bigger audiences in stadiums around the world. They made music and headlines wherever they went, from Muscle Shoals, Alabama, to the French Riviera via Kingston, Jamaica, and Nassau in the Bahamas. They’ve remained the bad boys of rock, influencing everyone from Aerosmith and the Clash to Guns N’ Roses.

Jump Back eschews the temptation to play it safe and simply run through the group’s catalog chronologically, and is intelligently sequenced for maximum enjoyment at a party or as in-car entertainment. The groove-oriented “Hot Stuff,” from 1976’s Black And Blue, makes a fine segue between the floor-fillers “Miss You” and “Emotional Rescue.” And the sweet jazz-soul of “Waiting On A Friend,” from 1981’s Tattoo You, fits snugly alongside “Beast Of Burden”–a U.S. Top Ten entry never released as a single in the U.K.– and “Wild Horses.” The snarling “Respectable,” from 1978’s Some Girls, proves the Stones could match the punks they had influenced so much, while the collision of reggae, dub, dance and politically charged lyrics that is “Undercover Of The Night” from 1983 stills jumps out of the speakers 25 years on.

Jump Back retains the original packaging of the 1993 edition and comes complete with a 12-page illustrated booklet featuring comments and observations by Mick Jagger and Keith Richards about the eighteen tracks included, offering fans a rare insight into the workings of the band. Jump Back will also be available digitally.

Jump Back – tracklisting

1. Start Me Up
2. Brown Sugar
3. Harlem Shuffle
4. It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll
5. Mixed Emotions
6. Angie
7. Tumbling Dice
8. Fool to Cry
9. Rock and a Hard Place
10. Miss You
11. Hot Stuff
12. Emotional Rescue
13. Respectable
14. Beast of Burden
15. Waiting on a Friend
16. Wild Horses
17. Bitch

18. Undercover of the Night

Source: Universal Music Enterprises