‘The Social Network’ Takes Home Best Picture and Best Director Awards at the 16th Annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards

The Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) announced the winners of the 16th annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards last night. The star-studded ceremony was held at the Hollywood Palladium and aired live on VH1. “The Social Network” was named the year’s Best Picture and David Fincher won Best Director honors for the film.

Other big winners of the night included Colin Firth, who took Best Actor for his role in “The King’s Speech” and Natalie Portman, who won Best Actress for her role in “Black Swan.” Also honored were Christian Bale with the Best Supporting Actor award and Melissa Leo for Best Supporting Actress both for their work in “The Fighter.”

Best Action Movie went to “Inception,” while Best Art Direction and Best Editing went to “The Social Network.” “The Fighter” was honored with Best Acting Ensemble and Best Original Screenplay honors went to David Seidler for “The King’s Speech.” Best Young Actor/Actress went to Hailee Steinfeld for “True Grit.” “Toy Story 3” won Best Animated Feature and Best Comedy went to “Easy A.”

Distinguished actor and humanitarian Matt Damon was honored with the fourth annual Joel Siegel Award presented by Emily Blunt and Jimmy Kimmel. The BFCA created this award to honor those in the film community whose actions demonstrate that the greatest value of celebrity is the ability to do good work for others. This award pays homage to beloved “Good Morning America” film critic and BFCA member Joel Siegel, who lost his struggle with cancer in June, 2007.

The 16th Annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards also included a special nod to iconic film director Quentin Tarantino, who received the inaugural Critics’ Choice Music+Film Award, presented by Tim Roth and Ice Cube. The all new Critics’ Choice Music+Film Award was created to honor a single filmmaker who has not only inspired moviegoers with his cinematic storytelling, but has heightened the impact of film through the brilliant use of source and soundtrack music.

Nominees in attendance included: Amy Adams, Ben Affleck, Christian Bale, Annette Bening, Helena Bonham Carter, Robert Duvall, Jesse Eisenberg, Elle Fanning, Colin Firth, Andrew Garfield, Ryan Gosling, Jon Hamm, Nicole Kidman, Mila Kunis, Jennifer Lawrence, Melissa Leo, Julianne Moore, Mandy Moore, Jeremy Renner, Sam Rockwell, Mark Ruffalo, Kodi Smit-McPhee, Aaron Sorkin, Steven Spielberg, Jacki Weaver, Hailee Steinfeld and Michelle Williams.

Presenters at the gala included: Hank Azaria, Emily Blunt, Josh Brolin, Ice Cube, Jesse Eisenberg, Jane Fonda, Jon Hamm, Ed Helms, Rob Huebel, the Kardashians (Khloe, Kim), Jimmy Kimmel, Greg Kinnear, Jennifer Lawrence, Julianne Moore, Joan Rivers, Tim Roth, Paul Scheer, Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sarah Silverman, Kevin Spacey, Emma Stone and Sofia Vergara .

The show featured Maroon 5 as this year’s house band. In addition to entertaining the audience throughout the awards ceremony, the band gave a special red carpet performance during the live pre-show, and also performed “Stuck in the Middle with You” from the movie “Reservoir Dogs.” Keri Hilson also performed “Son of a Preacher Man” during the Critic’s Choice Music+Film Award tribute to Quentin Tarantino.

Viewers also got an exclusive sneak preview of VH1’s upcoming 2-hour scripted series premiere event “Single Ladies,” a comedic drama premiering Monday, May 30th at 9 PM ET/PT on VH1. Produced by Queen Latifah’s Flavor Unit Entertainment, “Single Ladies” asks the question: What do women really want in a relationship? The preview is now available on VH1.com.

For the show’s best moments, acceptance speeches, red carpet photos and interviews and a complete list of winners visit criticschoice.vh1.com.

Historically, the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards are the most accurate predictor of the Academy Award nominations. All four major acting category winners at the Academy Awards in 2010 were first Critics’ Choice Movie Awards winners in the same categories and were present at the January 15, 2010 ceremony to graciously give their first acceptance speeches of the awards season. The BFCA also recognized “The Hurt Locker” for “Best Picture” and Kathryn Bigelow as “Best Director,” making her the first female to win the award. “The Hurt Locker” and Bigelow also went on to win the Academy Award for “Best Picture” and “Best Director” but were both overlooked at the Golden Globes.

The 16th annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards, honoring the finest in cinematic achievement among 2010 film releases, announced its nominees on Monday, December 13, 2010. Final ballots went out to the BFCA members on January 10, 2011 with the deadline for returning final ballots on January 12, 2011. For a full list of this year’s nominees and information about the show visit CriticsChoice.VH1.com.

The 16th annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards is executive produced by Jesse Ignjatovic for Den of Thieves, Joey Berlin for Berlin Entertainment and Lee Rolontz for VH1.

About The Broadcast Film Critics Association:

The Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) is the largest film critics organization in the United States and Canada, representing more than 250 television, radio and online critics. BFCA members are the primary source of information for today’s film going public. The very first opinion a moviegoer hears about new releases at the multiplex or the art house usually comes from one of its members.

About Den of Thieves:

Founded in 2007 by Jesse Ignjatovic and Evan Prager, Den of Thieves has quickly emerged as a force for ambitious event shows and uniquely stylized reality television series. Using their extensive experience working with talent, Ignjatovic and Prager launched Den of Thieves as the TV arm of the Warner Music Group in 2007. After a successful three year partnership there, they branched out and are now fully independent. With an array of formats ranging from Comedy Central’s stand-up special “Russell Brand in NYC” to VH1’s “The T.O. Show” to the MTV Video Music Awards, Den of Thieves continues to create, develop and produce original television.

About VH1:

VH1 connects viewers to the music, artists and pop culture that matter to them most with TV series, specials, live events, exclusive online content and public affairs initiatives. VH1 is available in 98 million households in the U.S. VH1 also has an array of digital channels and services including VH1Classic, VH1 Soul, VH1 Mobile, VH1Games and extensive broadband video on VH1.com. Connect with VH1 at VH1.com.