Super Bowl XLV Officials Named

Referee WALT ANDERSON will lead the seven-man crew of game officials selected to work Super Bowl XLV this Sunday between the Pittsburgh Steelers and Green Bay Packers at Cowboys Stadium, the NFL announced today.

The other members of the Super Bowl XLV officiating crew are CHAD BROWN (umpire), KENT PAYNE (head linesman), JOHN HUSSEY (line judge), DOUG ROSENBAUM (field judge), MIKE WEATHERFORD (side judge) and SCOTT HELVERSON (back judge). The Super Bowl XLV officiating crew collectively has 77 years of NFL officiating experience and 53 combined playoff game assignments.

Anderson, in his 15th season as an NFL game official, served as the line judge in Super Bowl XXXV. Promoted to referee in 2003, he has officiated in 13 playoff games – one Super Bowl, three conference championships, two divisional playoffs and seven wild card games.

Under the NFL officiating program’s evaluation system, the highest-rated eligible officials at each position earn the right to work the Super Bowl. Super Bowl officials must have at least five years of NFL experience and previous playoff assignments.

TOMMY MOORE is the replay assistant. The video operator is BUD ALEXANDER.