US Open Beer Championship 2010

10010550The dates for the 2010 United States Beer Championship will be June 8 – June 18 with the winner being announced on July 4, 2010. This competion is the only competitions that allow award winning home brewers to compete against the best breweries worldwide.

Last year, more than 500 beers were submitted. Ten breweries were recognized as the top 10 breweries based on the number of medals earned. Deschutes Brewing of Bend, Oregon was named Grand National Champion while Sprecher Brewing of Glendale, Wisconsin and the Boston Beer finished second and third respectively. Sixty-two individual breweries won at least one medal, and 14 won two medals or more. A special congratulations go to Phil Ferrall of Cumming, GA. Phil was the only homebrewer to win a gold medal. His homebrew, The Next to Last King of Scotland Ale, won the Strong Scotch Ale category.

2009 United States Open Championship’s Top Ten Breweries

1. Deschutes Brewing – Bend, Oregon
2. Sprecher Brewing – Glendale, Wisconsin
3. Boston Beer Company – Boston, Massachuetts
4. August Schell Brewing – New Ulm, Minnesota
5. Maui Brewing – Maui, Hawaii
6. Anderson Valley Brewing – Boonville, California
7. Terrapin Beer Company – Athens, Georgia
8. Tallgrass Brewing – Manhattan, Kansas
9. Atlanta Brewing – Atlanta, Georgia
10. Sweetwater Brewing – Atlanta, Georgia

Call for Entries Period will begin June 8, 2010

The call for entries for the United States Open Beer Championships will begin on June 8, with the entry deadline set for June 18th. Winners will be announced July 4th. Each brewery may enter a maximum of 10 beers. In order to help small brewers in these tough economic times, each brewery will be allowed to enter 2 beers with no entry fee. If a brewery wishes to enter more than 2 beers, there will be a $50 entry fee per beer. A brewery must submit a minimum of 5 beers to be considered one of the Top Ten Breweries. Entry Forms and Rules can found on the competitions web-site at U.S. Open Registration.

Over 50 categories will be judged. Winners will receive a medal in the shape of a beer stein for 1st, 2nd and 3rd place. Beers placing in the top 10 of each category and top 10 breweries overall will be featured in America’s Best and Top 10 as well as Along with the medals awarded, A Grand National Champion will be awarded based on a point system for beers(5 minimum) entered in the competition.

To see last years’s individual winning brews and other winner and entrants’ details, go to The United States Open Beer Championship invites more than 1,000 breweries from more than 30 countries, as well as the 29 National Homebrewing Champions from the United States and Canada, to participate.