The Game Drops New Album LAX July 22

Thug Ass BrothaFeaturing: Lil’ Wayne, Kanye West, Common, Ne-Yo, Ludacris, Ice Cube

SANTA MONICA, Calif., June 16 – Platinum-selling rapper and West Coast champion The Game is set to release his third major-label album LAX on July 22nd on Geffen Records. The first single “Game’s Pain” featuring Keyshia Cole has already stormed the charts; the video directed by Rage reached #1 on BET’s 106 & Park countdown. “Game’s Pain” is the artist at his observant, insightful best: surveying hip-hop’s landscape from his lyrical peak. Keyshia Cole’s uplifting vocals soar over production fire from Knobody and Dahoud.

The Game returns to the cracked pavement, the album’s street single, “Dope Boys,” with Blink-182 drummer Travis Barker showing off his own trap work on the track. The song is produced by rising L.A. stars 1500 or Nothin’. An accompanying video is in the works.

Elsewhere, LAX shows off The Game’s best talents. Lil’ Wayne checks in on “My Life,” produced by Cool & Dre. Chicago stands up on “Angel” with Kanye West at the helm and Common on the mic. Meanwhile, Ne-Yo blesses a pair of songs: “Camera Phone” also from Cool & Dre, as well as J.R. Rotem’s “A Thug and a Gentleman.” Scott Storch cooks up two summer sizzlers: “Let Us Live” featuring Chrissette Michelle and “Put Ya Hands Up” with Busta Rhymes.

Hip-hop greats Ice Cube — “State of Emergency” by J.R.Rotem — and Raekwon — Jellyroll’s “Bulletproof Diaries” — likewise weigh in. R&B is equally well represented: Bilal on “Cali Sunshine,” produced by Nottz, and Raheem DeVaughn on “Touchdown.” Nottz also lays the licks for loudmouth Ludacris on the appropriately titled “Ya Heard.” Other songs of note include “Nice” by Irv Gotti, “House of Pain” by anthemic Atlantan DJ Toomp, and “Letter to the King” produced by Hi-Tek.

Quite a mouthful. But that’s the Game’s specialty: giving the audience more than it can possibly handle. Come July 22, LAX is set to raise the bar. Again. The Game is most definitely on.