Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Have you ever really been GASing for a guitar,
but not acted on it purely because you know that you didn't know any of the techniques that make that particular instrument so great?

I do this on occasion. Like, I always think about how great it would be to own a legit single coil equipped strat. Then I remember I am complete shit at blues, funk and pretty much everything else that sounds awesome on one.

Sure, I know a lick or two for all of that stuff, but nothing that warrants spending the money on a guitar that I'd play 10 minutes a week or some nonsense.
That's dumb.
Nope.

I just tell myself that its an excuse to learn something new. Sometimes it works.
Trust me, I'm a medical professional. 
You don't act on GAS - GAS acts on you.
Listless Vessels!
That's the thing though... My strat was H/S or HSS for so many years while I was obsessively into metal. Then I started getting into blues and got it back to SSS.

If you enjoy the genre, learn to play it. Get into the tones, sounds, techniques and learn it up! Besides, it'll make you a more versatile/adatabple musician when you learn new genres.

Getting a guitar suited to the genre is just a way to enable you to get deeper into it and learn it properly.
Yeah. My wallet hates my musical education and exploration.

Maybe this is the year I spring for a decent strat.

Or build one.

Now that I say that it sounds awesome.
With my Strat having HSH and a 25" scale you would think it doesn't do traditional Strat sounds at all.Wired series/split/parallel with a blend pot it goes from a close LP sound to a good bright single coil. Neither are exactly perfect but they are all good sounds.Might be the Tom Anderson pups helping a lot also? The thing about guitars , you have to sit around and play with them for awhile sometimes. It isn't always pick it up and instant bonding to an instrument.Random stupidity...
Do as thou wilt . Aleister Crowley